skip navigation

Coaches

Joe Willis - Head Football Coach

EMAIL: joseph.willis@gcisd.net

COACHING EXPERIENCE: 26 years (9 years as Head Coach) 

CAREER HEAD COACHING RECORD: 85-31; State Championship in 2012. 

YEARS AT CHHS: 4th

COLLEGE: East Texas Baptist University

FAMILY: Amber (wife), Bradley (15), Daniel (11), Malia (9)

FAVORITE QUOTE: "Everyone has the will to win, only true champions have the will to prepare."

TWITTER: @JoeWillis7


Steven Fex - Defensive Coordinator/Safeties

EMAIL: steven.fex@gcisd.net

TEACHES: ISS 

COACHING EXPERIENCE: 31 years

YEARS AT CHHS: 1st 

COLLEGE:  Western Oregon University 

FAMILY: Colleen (wife) Joe (19), Jake (17), Jimmy (15), Katie (12)

FAVORITE QUOTE: "They don't care what you know until they know that you care." - Lou Holtz

TWITTER: @CoachFex


Ron Mendoza - Associate Head Coach/Line Backers

EMAIL: Ronald.Mendoza@gcisd.net 

TEACHES: Pre-AP World History   

COACHING EXPERIENCE: 40 Years 

YEARS AT CHHS: 4th 

COLLEGE: New Mexico Highlands University

FAMILY:  Cameron (son) and Sue, Justin (son) and Andrea.  Luke, Rocky, and Cruz (grandsons)

TWITTER: @CoachMendoza12

 


Jarvis Johnson - Co-Offensive Coordinator/Running Backs

EMAIL: jarvis.johnson@gcisd.net

TEACHES: World Geography  

COACHING EXPERIENCE: 11 years   

YEARS AT CHHS: 4th 

COLLEGE: Stephen F. Austin State University

FAMILY: Jayda (daughter)

FAVORITE QUOTE: "Don't count the days, make the days count."
- Muhammad Ali  

TWITTER: @CoachJJohnson1


Keri Timmerman - Co-Offensive Coordinator/Receivers/Special Teams

EMAIL: keri.timmerman@gcisd.net

TEACHES: World Geography 

COACHING EXPERIENCE: 17 years

YEARS AT CHHS: 1st 

COLLEGE: Masters-Hardin Simmons University; Undergraduate-Baylor 

FAMILY: Natalie (wife), Addie (13), Doak (10), Brock (7)

FAVORITE QUOTE: "love = Sacrifice"

TWITTER: @keri_timmerman


Scotty Pugh-Associate Head Coach/Quarterbacks

EMAIL: scott.pugh@gcisd.net

TEACHES: Panther Academy

COACHING EXPERIENCE:  20 years

YEARS AT CHHS:  1

COLLEGE: University of Texas at Austin

FAMILY: Brenda (wife), Kelbi (21), Shelbi (25)

TWITTER: ScottyLPugh


Barton Hundley-Corners

EMAIL: barton.hundley@gcisd.net

TEACHES: World Geography   

COACHING EXPERIENCE: 21 Years

YEARS AT CHHS: 1st 

COLLEGE: Kansas State University

FAMILY: Maury Jo (wife), Gracie (19), Isreal (18), Boston (14)

FAVORITE QUOTE: "Get comfortable being uncomfortable."


Aaron Schutz - Offensive Line

EMAIL: aaron.schutz@gcisd.net

TEACHES: Social Studies

COACHING EXPERIENCE: 8 Years

YEARS AT CHHS: 1st

COLLEGE: University of Louisiana - Monroe

FAMILY: Christa (wife), Maddox (1)

FAVORITE QUOTE: "The reward of success is greater than the sacrifice required."

TWITTER: @schutzac


Freddy Ortega - Tight Ends

EMAIL: freddy.ortega@gcisd.net

TEACHES: Chemistry

COACHING EXPERIENCE: 11 Years  

YEARS AT CHHS: 3rd

COLLEGE: Tarleton State University

FAMILY: Jamie (wife), Mila (1), Emma (September 2018)

FAVORITE QUOTE: "Live in vision, not in circumstance." 
- Chuck Pagano

TWITTER: @CoachOrtega2006


Chris Hayes - Defensive Line

EMAIL: chris.hayes@gcisd.net

TEACHES:  Special Education / ISS

COACHING EXPERIENCE:  7  years

YEARS AT CHHS: 1st 

Family: Mary (wife), children Akaia (17), Kenneth (11), Kaleb (8) 

COLLEGE:   Texas Christian University

FAVORITE QUOTE: "Whatever it takes!!!"

TWITTER: @cmhayes23


Ryan Roe - 9th Coordinator/OSLB

EMAIL: ryan.roe@gcisd.net

TEACHES: English

COACHING EXPERIENCE:  21

YEARS AT CHHS: 1st 

COLLEGE: Oklahoma State University

FAMILY: Ashley (wife), Cooper (17), Parker (14)

FAVORITE QUOTE: "A champion is someone who gets up when he can't." 

TWIITER: @CoachRoeHMS


Rush Atkinson - 9th Quarterbacks/Receivers

EMAIL: rush.atkinson@gcisd.net

TEACHES: Biology

COACHING EXPERIENCE: 5 Years 

YEARS AT CHHS: 3rd

COLLEGE: Hardin Simmons University 

FAMILY: Megan Atkinson (wife), Bowen (son)

FAVORITE QUOTE: "Practice doesn't make perfect, perfect practice makes perfect."
- Vince Lombardi


Jon Pavliska - Kickers/Punters/9th Defense

EMAIL: jon.pavliska@gcisd.net

TEACHES: English  

EXPERIENCE: 17 Years 

YEARS AT CHHS: 4th 

COLLEGE: University of North Texas

FAMILY: Jeanie (wife), Kallin (8), Kinsler (2)

FAVORITE QUOTE: "Give all you have today, for what you save is lost forever."
- Unknown  

TWITTER: @pavman19


Leslie Ferris- Director of Football Operations

EMAIL:  leslie.ferris@gcisd.net

TEACHES:  Graphics Design and Animation

COACHING EXPERIENCE:  14 years (Cheer & Guard)

YEARS AT CHHS: 5th

COLLEGE:  West Texas A&M University (BBA/M.Ed)

FAMILY: Lance (husband), Wyatt (7)

FAVORITE QUOTE: "Happiness can be found in the darkest of times, if one only remembers to turn on the light" -Dumbledore