skip navigation

Coaches

Joe Willis - Head Football Coach

EMAIL: joseph.willis@gcisd.net

COACHING EXPERIENCE: 24 Years (7 as Head Coach) 

CAREER HEAD COACHING RECORD: 64-26; State Championship in 2012. 

YEARS AT CHHS: 3rd

COLLEGE: East Texas Baptist University

FAMILY: Amber (wife), Bradley (13), Daniel (9), Malia (8)

FAVORITE QUOTE: "99% of the time, risk precedes reward."
- Unknown 


Ron Mendoza - Associate Head Coach/Defense/Outside Linebackers

EMAIL: Ronald.Mendoza@gcisd.net 

TEACHES: Pre-AP World History   

COACHING EXPERIENCE: 39 Years 

YEARS AT CHHS: 3rd 

COLLEGE: New Mexico Highlands University

FAMILY: Luke, Rocky, and Cruz (grandsons)

 


Mitch Sanders - Assistant Head Coach/Co-Offensive Coordinator/Wide Receivers

EMAIL: sherman.sanders@gcisd.net

TEACHES: Panther Academy

COACHING EXPERIENCE:  21

YEARS AT CHHS:  1st

COLLEGE: Western Oregon University

FAMILY: Shelly (wife), Shelby (daughter), Drew (son)

FAVORITE QUOTE: "Success is a choice."
- Rick Pitino

 

 


Jarvis Johnson - Co-Offensive Coordinator/Running backs

EMAIL: jarvis.johnson@gcisd.net

TEACHES: World Geography  

COACHING EXPERIENCE: 9 years   

YEARS AT CHHS: 3rd 

COLLEGE: Stephen F. Austin State University

FAMILY: Jayda (daughter)

FAVORITE QUOTE: "Don't count the days, make the days count."
- Muhammad Ali  


Michael Quintero - Defensive Coordinator/Defensive Line/JV Coordinator

EMAIL: michael.quintero@gcisd.net

TEACHES: Weight Training   

EXPERIENCE: 17 Years 

YEARS AT CHHS: 3rd 

COLLEGE: West Texas A&M University

FAMILY: Tara (wife)


Ahmad Zaidan - Special Teams Coordinator/Inside Linebackers/Freshman Coordinator

EMAIL: ahmad.zaidan@gcisd.net

TEACHES: Social Studies   

COACHING EXPERIENCE: 8 years 

YEARS AT CHHS: 3rd

COLLEGE: Texas State University

 

FAVORITE QUOTE: "People who work together will win, whether it be against complex football defenses, or the problems of modern society."
- Vince Lombardi  


Jeff Potts - Offensive Line

EMAIL: Jeffrey.Potts@gcisd.net

TEACHES: World Geography   

COACHING EXPERIENCE: 17 Years

YEARS AT CHHS: 2nd 

COLLEGE: Hardin Simmons University

FAMILY: Ann (wife), Eleanor (daughter)

FAVORITE QUOTE: "All I know is that I know nothing."
- Socrates


Kris Boyd - H Backs

EMAIL: Christopher.Boyd@gcisd.net

TEACHES: Social Studies  

COACHING EXPERIENCE: 26 Years 

YEARS AT CHHS: 4th 

COLLEGE: Howard Payne University 

 

FAMILY: Dana (wife), Bryce (freshman at OU), Brady (9th at CHHS), Brock (4th at HES) 

FAVORITE QUOTE: "Don't worry about the blind mule, just load the wagon." 
- Unknown


Freddy Ortega - Tight Ends/Recruiting Coordinator

EMAIL: freddy.ortega@gcisd.net

TEACHES: Chemistry

COACHING EXPERIENCE: 10 Years  

YEARS AT CHHS: 2nd

COLLEGE: Tarleton State University

FAMILY: Jamie (wife), Mila (daugther)

FAVORITE QUOTE: "Live in vision, not in circumstance." 
- Chuck Pagano


Brad WIllard- Wide Receivers

EMAIL: Bradley.Willard@gcisd.net

TEACHES: World Geography 

COACHING EXPERIENCE: 1st year

YEARS AT CHHS: 1st 

COLLEGE: Baylor University  

FAMILY: Kaelyn (wife), Beckett (son)

FAVORITE QUOTE: “Never give up! Failure and rejection are only the first step to succeeding."
- Jimmy Valvano


Chase Richardson - Secondary

EMAIL: chase.richardson@gcisd.net

TEACHES: Physical Education 

COACHING EXPERIENCE:   7 years

YEARS AT CHHS: 1st 

COLLEGE: Texas Tech University  

FAVORITE QUOTE: "Hard work beats talent when talent doesn't work hard."
- Tim Notke

 


Rush Atkinson - Quarterbacks/Wide Receivers

EMAIL: rush.atkinson@gcisd.net

TEACHES: Biology

COACHING EXPERIENCE: 4 Years 

YEARS AT CHHS: 2nd

COLLEGE: Hardin Simmons University 

FAMILY: Megan Atkinson (wife)

FAVORITE QUOTE: "Practice doesn't make perfect, perfect practice makes perfect."
- Vince Lombardi


Jon Pavliska - Kickers/Secondary

EMAIL: jon.pavliska@gcisd.net

TEACHES: English  

EXPERIENCE: 15 Years 

YEARS AT CHHS: 3rd 

COLLEGE: University of North Texas

FAMILY: Jeanie (wife), Kallin (7), Kinsler (1)

FAVORITE QUOTE: "Give all you have today, for what you save is lost forever."
- Unknown  


Colby Goodman - Defensive Line/Nose Guards

EMAIL: colby.goodman@gcisd.net

TEACHES: Algebra 2 and Geometry

COACHING EXPERIENCE: 4 Years

YEARS AT CHHS: 2nd 

COLLEGE: Tarleton State University

FAMILY: Hannah (wife)

FAVORITE QUOTE: "Today I will do what others won't, so tomorrow I can do what others can't." - Jerry Rice